The proposed outline syllabus for the full range of resources for 3-11 year olds can be viewed here: Syllabus

Series Aims
  • To teach that even as Christians we will keep making mistakes and fail to love God as we should.
  • To teach that God faithfully saves those who repent of sin and helps them to live for him.
  • To teach that God uses us to carry out his plans despite our weakness, pride and failures.

Series Overview
This series consists of four lessons, including an introduction to the cycle of rebellion in the book of Judges. Each lesson focuses on one judge as a case study, highlighting two key themes:
  1. Man's Failures – Both the judges whom God raised up to rescue Israel and the people themselves failed to trust and live for God (weeks 2, 3 and 4). Even those who did love God were weak and could not bring about lasting change or repentance (week 1).
  2. God's Faithfulness – Despite Israel's constant failures and rebellion against him, God remained faithful to his people. He sent foreign armies to oppress them in order to lead them to repentance (weeks 1, 2 and 4); he rescued them whenever they cried out to him (weeks 1 and 2); and he even saved them when they did not ask for help or give him the glory he deserved (weeks 3 and 4).
Throughout the book of Judges God is clearly seen as the true hero of the story as he patiently disciplines and rescues his people.

Series Outline
Lesson 1 - Ehud the Unlikely (Judges 2:6-3:6, 3:12-30)
Lesson 2 - Gideon the Small (Judges 6:1-7:25)
Lesson 3 - Gideon the Great (Judges 8:1-35)
Lesson 4 - Samson the Sinner (Judges 13:1-7; 14:1-9; 15:20-16:30)

In addition to the colour graphics pack which we supply you can also download a full range of free images for this series here.

You might also like...